Ekiti State

Nickname: Land of Honour
Governor: Biodun Oyebanji

Area: 7,000 square kilometers
Size Rank: 31st

Ekiti was declared a state on the 1st of October in 1996. The State, carved out of the territory of old Ondo State, covers the former twelve local government areas that made up the Ekiti Zone of old Ondo State. Its North-South bounds Kogi State while the West-East extent borders Osun State. Ado-Ekiti is the State’s capital.

Ekiti has 16 Local Government Areas (LGAs) consisting of: Ado-Ekiti, Oye, Aiyekire (Gbonyin), Efon, Ekiti East, Ekiti South-West, Ekiti West, Emure, Ido-Osi, Ijero, Ikere, Ikole, Ilejemeje, Irepodun/Ifelodun, Ise/Orun, and Moba.

Ekiti State is reputed to have produced the highest number of professors in Nigeria. Several pioneers of academics are from the State. Pioneers like Profs Adegoke Olubummo(1st Nigeria Professor in the field of Mathematics), Adeyinka Adeyemi(1st Professor of Architecture in West Africa). Others include renowned academics like Profs J.F. Ade-Ajayi, Niyi Osundare, Sam Aluko, Peter Bodunrin and others too many to mention.