Ogun State

Nickname: The Gateway State
Governor: Prince Dapo Abiodun, MFR

Area: 16,980.55 square kilometres
Size Rank: 24th

Ogun State was created on the 3rd of February 1976 with Abeokuta as its capital, comprising of the old Abeokuta and ljebu provinces. The original settlers of Abeokuta were of the Egba Nation. It was one of the nineteen states created out of the former twelve state structure of 1967. The State shares an international boundary with the Republic of Benin to its west and interstate boundaries with Oyo to its north, Lagos to its south and Ondo to its east. The major cities of Ogun are: Abeokuta, Ijebu Ode, Sagamu, Ijebu Igbo, Ilaro Ayetoro and Ota.

Ogun has 20 Local Government Areas: Abeokuta North, Abeokuta South, Ado-Odo/Ota, Ewekoro, Ifo, Ijebu East, Ijebu North, Ijebu North East, Ijebu Igbo, Ijebu Ode, Ikenne, Imeko Afon, Ipokia, Obafemi Owode, Odogbolu, Odeda, Ogun Waterside, Remo North, Sagamu, Yewa North formerly Egbado North, Yewa South formerly Egbado South