Osun State

Nickname: State of the Virtuous
Governor: Gboyega Oyetola

Area: 14,875 square kilometres
Size Rank: 28th

Osun was declared a state on the 27th of August in 1991, under the administration of General Ibrahim Babangida. Osun was carved out of Oyo State with Osogbo being its capital. It is boundaried by Ogun to the south, Kwara to the north, Oyo to the west and Ekiti and Ondo to the east. The State is within the tropical rain forest with abundance of resources. Minerals resources found in the State include gold, kaolin and others which are being extracted for the benefit of the State and the people.

The name ‘Osun’ comes from a river that flows through the State. It is symbolic because it serves both spiritual and tourist purposes in the State. The river is worshipped annually by devotees. It is also a tourist spot as people from different parts of the country visit the Osun Groove in Osogbo. The river also provides water for irrigation for the agriculturally rich State.

The State of Osun has 30 Local Government Areas and Ife East Area Office, Modakeke. The LGAs of Osun are: Ayedaade, Ayedire, Atakunmosa East, Atakunmosa West, Boripe, Boluwaduro, Ede North, Ede South, Egbedore, Ejigbo, Ifedayo, Ifelodun, Ife Central, Ife East, Ife North, Ife South, Ila, Ilesa East, Ilesa West, Irepodun, Irewole, Isokan, Iwo, Obokun, Odo Otin, Ola Oluwa, Olorunda, Oriade, Orolu, Osogbo, and Area Office Modakeke.