Oyo State

Nickname: Pace Setter State
Governor: Engr. Seyi Makinde

Area: Approximately 28,454 square kilometres
Size Rank: 14th

Oyo was formed in 1976 from the former Western State of Nigeria, originally including Osun State which became its own state in 1991. Oyo is an inland State of Western Nigeria with Ibadan as its capital. It is bounded to its north by Kwara, to its east by Osun, to its south by Ogun and to its west partly Ogun and the Republic of Benin. Oyo’s beautiful landscape is naturally made up of ancient hard rocks and domed shaped hills, which rise gently from about 500 metres in the southern part and reaching a height of about 1, 219 metres above sea level in the northern part.

Oyo has 33 Local Government Areas: Akinyele, Afijio, Egbeda, Ibadan North, Ibadan, North-East, Ibadan North-West, Ibadan South-West, Ibadan South-East, Ibarapa Central, Ibarapa East, Ido, Irepo, Iseyin, Kajola, Lagelu, Ogbomosho North, Ogbomosho South, Oyo West, Atiba, Atisbo, Saki West, Saki East, Itesiwaju, Iwajowa, Ibarapa North, Olorunsogo, Oluyole, Ogo Oluwa, Surulere, Orelope, Ori Ire, Oyo East, Ona Ara.